” Because our people love us, Cross River is PDP”_ Imoke

The National Chairman of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP), Mr Uche Secondus has pledged the support of the National Working Committee (NWC) to the Cross River chapter of the party.

This follows the recent defection of Governor Ben Ayade from the party to the All Progressives Congress (APC) last week Thursday.

Sen. Liyel Imoke, former governor of the State disclosed this on Monday at an enlarged PDP stakeholders meeting in Calabar.

“When I was coming down to Calabar, our national Chairman, Uche Secondus said, I should tell you, “we are firmly behind you, ” he said.

Imoke, who is the leader of the party in the state, described Ayade’s defection as a non-issue, saying that Cross River remains a PDP state.

“Cross River PDP is intact and remains one family. They are only trying to divide us but it cannot work.

“Cross River is PDP, and PDP is Cross River, ” he said.

He assured party faithful that it was time for the people to reclaim their party, adding that PDP was a party for the people by the people and for the people.

“We are returning the party to the people at the grassroots. PDP belongs to the people, the men; the women; and the youths.

“I am going back to the drawing board to ensure that we secure our victories come 2023.

“We are going to visit all the political wards in the state and reawaken their political consciousness and restore their hope in Cross River project, ” he said.

He advised the youths not to take to violence or revenge of any kind.

” Because our people love us, ” Imoke said.

Also speaking, the leader of the National Assembly Caucus in the State, Sen. Gershon Bassey assured supporters that everything will be done to return the party to it’s original position.

He said that, PDP state chapter was poised to rejig and reclaim her position as the one and only party in the state.

He charged party members to remain steadfast and continue to be loyal to the party and the leaders.

The meeting which began on Sunday had in attendance members from the 18 Local Government Areas of the state.


%d bloggers like this: